Change User and File Permissions

Introduction

When you pair QuickBooks and our software, you are asked whether to prompt you during each sync or sync automatically. If you choose to be prompted, you can easily change the permissions to auto sync.

User Role

Any user must have either the admin or full access role to pair the software. Ensure the user logged into QuickBooks has the Full Access or Admin role.

  1. Select the Company menu and then select Users > Set Up Users and Roles.
  2. Select the user and notice the Roles Assigned for that user.
  3. If the user does not have a Full Access or Admin role, click Edit.
  4. In the Available Roles list, select Full Access and click Add, then click OK.

If you cannot change the role, you may add permissions:

  1. Select the Company menu and then select Users > Set Up Users and Roles.
  2. Find your user role.
  3. On the right, click edit.
  4. On the new window, select customer.
  5. Add create permission.
  6. Select item.
  7. Add create permission.

Here is an example of the create permission.

Request to Abort

This means you paired our app and QuickBooks as a non admin user. You must login as admin in QuickBooks and give it permissions. Here are the steps:

  1. Login to QuickBooks as Admin.
  2. Open the web connector.
  3. On the left, check the boxes for all the Connex connections. If you only have one connection, then check the box.
  4. Click update selected.
  5. QuickBooks will prompt you for permissions. Select the fourth radio button. If you see a drop down, select Admin.
  6. Click OK.

Instructions

If you get an error message saying This application does not have permission to access this QuickBooks company data file, you must allow our app to login automatically. Here are the steps:

  1. If you use multi-user mode, you must enter single user mode. In QuickBooks, go to file and select single user mode. Otherwise, skip this step.
  2. In QuickBooks, go to edit > preferences
  3. Click integrated applications > company preferences
  4. Uncheck the box that prevents applications from accessing the current company file.
  5. Check the box for allow this application to login automatically.
  6. Click OK:edit_permissions.png
Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful

Comments

0 comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.